Top Ten Places I Want to See Before My Life Has to End

Socotra

A small archipelago of four islands located in the Indian Ocean that is very isolated and filled with the most abnormal looking plant life. Visiting the “alien” island of Socotra is definitely an experience that I wouldn’t have to share with many others – making that one of the reasons why Socotra is under the top ten places I want to see before my life has to end.

Image

Racetrack Playa, California

A very flat, spacious piece of land with fierce winds and rocks that have been known to move by themselves. These rocks leave trails behind them, proof that they have moved, but there is no real theory of just exactly HOW these rocks travel. Because the playa fills with about a centimetre of water, some scientists believe that during the night, the cold winds freeze the water and the rocks (sometimes boulders) slide across. However it’s difficult to believe this theory because the wind does not change paths so quickly, yet the rocks leave strange trails that go against the science of wind, making the Racetrack Playa one of the top ten places I want to see before my life has to end.

Image

Petra, Jordan

A very historical city, built in 6th century BC and known for its famous rock cut architecture. It’s surprising that Petra wasn’t discovered by the Western world until 1812 and yet was so important to the people of the Nabataeans. The fact that Petra was also a site in the film Indiana Jones: The Last Crusade is a main reason as to why it is on my list of top ten places I want to see before my life has to end.

Image

Blue Lagoon, Iceland

I’m a sucker for anything that has to do with being zen or spiritual – including spas. The Blue Lagoon is a popular tourist attraction in Iceland known for its geothermal spa where the large bathing waters are part of a lava formation. The water is rich in minerals like sulphur and silica and bathing in it can help reduce some skin diseases, such as psoriasis. Experiencing the calming and zen-like environment is why the Blue Lagoon is one of the places I want to see before my life has to end.

Image

Easter Island

A Polynesian Island located in the southeastern Pacific Ocean that is famous for its 887 monumental statues, known as the “moai” created by early Rapanui people. It got its name from Dutch explorer Jacob Roggeveen, who is the first recorded visitor as he happened to fall upon the island on Easter Sunday of 1722. The statues that were built are so overpowering and extravagant for its era, making it another place I want to see before my life has to end.

Image

Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe

With a width of 1,708 metres and a height of 108 metres, Victoria Falls is the largest sheet of falling water in the world. David Livingstone was believed to have been the first European to see the falls and therefore named it after the current reigning Queen Victoria. Nevermind the fact that I share the name of this beautiful landscape, it is one of my top ten places to see before my life has ended because of its serene and peaceful nature.

Image

Pak Ou Caves, Laos

Although the Pak Ou Caves are not well known, it is a place I would like to visit simply because of its tranquility. It overlooks the Mekong River (which is 25 km long) and is filled with small and mostly damaged wooden Buddha figures all laid out on shelves. There is not much for me to say about the Pak Ou Caves because I am speechless – Buddhism is a very difficult religion to follow and understand and that is why the Pak Ou Caves are a place I want to see before my life has to end.

Image

Antelope Canyon, Arizona

It is not known exactly when people first discovered Antelope Canyon but many years ago, the people of Navajo would often visit the Antelope Canyon, treating it as a Cathedral. Entering in the right frame of mind would allow them to leave feeling harmonious and peaceful with Mother Nature`s wondrous creation. It was, and still is, a spiritual experience and that is why it is one of the places I want to see before my life has to end.

Image

Otavalo Market, Ecuador

Otavalo is a town in the Imbabura Province of Ecuador and every Saturday, the Otavalo market is filled with colours coming from an array of textiles. It consists of 90 mushroom-shaped concrete umbrellas where vendors will set up handicrafts and other items to sell. It was originally designed by Dutch architect Tonny Zwollo and has become a big tourist sighting. It was designed in the 70s – no wonder the market is so vibrant with colours – which happens to be an era that I am very interested in, making it one of the top ten places I want to see before my life has to end.

Image

Venice, Italy

Your typical tourist attraction – I won’t lie that I’m not being original here but how could you not want to visit Venice before your life has to end? Venice is well known for its beautiful landscape and architecture, it is a group of 118 islands all linked together through canals and bridges. The only way to get around is by boat or walking and I find that very intriguing. I also happen to be Italian, so why not visit Venice and stuff my face with gorgonzola and thick bolognese sauces before my life has to end?

Image

Leave a Reply

